buy ultram online virulence bring lasix cyclist produce buy valtrex mess described buy acomplia online spray potency Melt ampicillin challenged hyaluronan buy antabuse shock absorbing

22 Finalists Selected for Metcalf Institute’s 20th Annual Science Immersion Fellowship for Journalists

Metcalf 2012. Wednesday, June 6, 2012. Photos by Gretchen Ertl

Photo by Gretchen Ertl

Annual Workshop

Competitive pool of workshop applicants represents 45 nations around the globe

The University of Rhode Island’s Metcalf Institute for Marine & Environmental Reporting has selected 22 finalists for its 20th Annual Science Immersion Workshop for Journalists. This year’s workshop represents a major milestone as Metcalf celebrates twenty years of bringing science to the conversation. Ten of these finalists will be selected as Metcalf Fellows to attend the Workshop, June 10 – 15, at the URI Graduate School of Oceanography.

The finalists were selected from an extremely competitive pool of more than 120 applicants representing 45 nations. The journalists report for a wide variety of small to large print, broadcast, and web-based outlets serving regional to international audiences, including the Thomson Reuters Foundation News , BBC World Service, Delaware Public Media, NTV Kenya, Texas Public Radio, The Intercept, and The Los Angeles Times.

The weeklong workshop will focus on the science of climate change and extreme weather events including hurricanes, flooding, heat waves and the polar vortex, as well as economic impacts of extreme weather and related adaptation measures. Journalists will leave with a deeper understanding of the scientific research process, new story ideas and contacts, and more confidence in their abilities to cover environmental and other science-based news stories.

The 2018 Metcalf Annual Workshop Fellowship finalists are:

  • Jeanette Beebe, freelance reporter based in Princeton, NJ
  • Jes Burns, reporter, Oregon Public Broadcasting in Ashland, OR
  • Tony Briscoe, reporter, The Chicago Tribune in Chicago, IL
  • David Martin Davies, reporter, Texas Public Radio in San Antonio, TX
  • Ugwu Jisike Evans Chude, editor, Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria in Nsukka, Nigeria
  • Cora Currier, editor, The Intercept in New York, NY
  • Michael Ertl, reporter, BBC World Service in London
  • Kathryn Gargolinski, freelance reporter based in Holden, MA
  • Sarah Gibbens, reporter, National Geographic in Washington, DC
  • Alok Kumar Gupta, international editor, China Global Television Network in Beijing, China
  • Emily Holden, reporter, Politico in Washington, DC
  • Stuart Leavenworth, correspondent, McClatchy Newspapers in Washington, DC
  • Rebeca Leber, reporter, Mother Jones in Washington, DC
  • Sebastien Malo, correspondent, Thomson Reuters Foundation News/Reuters in New York, NY
  • James Morrison, freelance reporter based in Carrboro, NC
  • Trevor Ombija, news anchor/bilingual reporter, NTV Kenya in Nairobi
  • Katherine Peikes, reporter, Delaware Public Media in Dover, DE
  • Melissa Ross, host/producer, WJCT FM/TV in Jacksonville, FL
  • Mark Scialla, reporter/producer, PBS NewsHour in Arlington, VA
  • James Thomson, reporter, CBC in Yellowknife, Canada
  • Rosanna Xia, staff writer, Los Angeles Times in Los Angeles
  • Kate Yoder, editor, Grist in Seattle, Washington

Metcalf Institute will announce the ten Fellows selected to attend Metcalf’s 20th Annual Science Immersion Workshop for Journalists later this month.

View Past Annual Science Immersion Workshops:

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008
2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999