Metcalf Institute Advisory Board

Metcalf Institute Advisory Board, June 2017. Photo by Gretchen Ertl

Click names for biographies


Karen Bordeleau Ex Officio
Senior Vice President and Executive Editor, The Providence Journal, Retired

Trudy Coxe
CEO, Preservation Society of Newport County

Cornelia Dean
Senior Writer, The New York Times
Writer-in-Residence, Brown University

Jennifer Francis, Ph.D.
Research Professor, Rutgers University Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences

Gail Ginnetty
Non-profit Consultant

Rudolph A. Hempe
Freelance Environment Writer

John Howell Advisory Board Treasurer
Publisher, Beacon Communications

Lloyd Irland, Ph.D.
Principal, The Irland Group

John Kirby, Ph.D.
Dean, URI College of the Environment and Life Sciences

Fraser Lang Advisory Board Vice Chair
Publishing Consultant

Robert Leeson
Director, Conservation Law Foundation of Rhode Island

Christopher Little
Attorney, Pierce Atwood LLP

Annie Sherman Luke Advisory Board Secretary
Managing Editor, Newport Life Magazine

Lucy Metcalf Ex Officio

Kendall Moore
Assistant Professor, Department of Journalism, University of Rhode Island

Kelly Pennell, Ph.D., P.E.
Assistant Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Kentucky

Rebecca Robinson, Ph.D. Science Co-Director
Associate Professor, University of Rhode Island Graduate School of Oceanography

Sarah Finnie Robinson
Founding Partner/Head of Social, WeSpire

Tatiana Rynearson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Oceanography, URI Graduate School of Oceanography

Bari Scott
Executive Director, SoundVision Productions

Christine Woodside Advisory Board Chair
Freelance Writer and Editor


Emeritus Advisors

Monica Allen
Public Affairs Specialist, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

David Baron
Science Editor, PRI’s The World

The Honorable Lincoln Chafee

Camille Feanny
Broadcast News Producer

Richard Kerr, Ph.D.
Senior Writer, Science

John Knauss, Ph.D.
Dean Emeritus, University of Rhode Island Graduate School of Oceanography

Beth Parke
Executive Director, Society of Environmental Journalists

John C. Quinn, Sr.
Trustee, The Freedom Forum

Robert Vanderslice, Ph.D.
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials

Sandra Whitehouse, Ph.D.
Senior Advisor, Ocean Conservancy