buy ultram online virulence bring lasix cyclist produce buy valtrex mess described buy acomplia online spray potency Melt ampicillin challenged hyaluronan buy antabuse shock absorbing

Ten Journalists Awarded Metcalf Institute Fellowship

Alumni demonstrate their strong support of Metcalf’s internationally recognized training model by funding one fellowship through donations

The University of Rhode Island’s Metcalf Institute for Marine & Environmental Reporting has selected ten journalists from the U.S., the Philippines, and Canada to attend its 17th Annual Science Immersion Workshop for Journalists.  The fellows, chosen from an unprecedentedly competitive pool of applicants, represent a variety of media organizations ranging from Newsweek to PRI’s The World, the Associated Press, Georgia Public Broadcasting, and C & G Newspapers, publisher of community newspapers in Michigan.

The workshop, which runs from June 7 through June 12, puts journalists directly in the field, laboratory, and classroom as they learn the fundamentals of scientific research and sharpen their investigative reporting skills. The Metcalf Fellows will learn about the impacts of human activities on coastal ecosystems from top scientists at the URI Graduate School of Oceanography, one of the nation’s premier oceanographic research institutions. They will discuss community responses to shoreline change and explore the science underlying a range of global change issues such as the effects of “emerging” contaminants on water quality and seafood safety, new approaches to salt marsh restoration in the face of rapid sea level rise, and long-term changes in food webs of Narragansett Bay – the world’s most-studied estuary.

The 2015 Metcalf Fellows are:

Learn about more about 2015 Fellows

Find out How Metcalf Alumni Are Helping More Journalists Gain the Metcalf Experience

In addition to donations from Metcalf Institute alumni and other supporters, the Annual Science Immersion Workshop for Journalists is underwritten by generous contributions from Pamela M. Thye and John Frederick Thye.