Metcalf Institute donors’ generous contributions allow us to improve the quality and frequency of environmental news coverage. We gratefully acknowledge the individuals, agencies, and foundations whose donations expand public understanding of science and the environment.

The following donors and funders supported Metcalf Institute in Fiscal Year 2017:

Anonymous Fund at The Boston Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Richard Abrams
Mr. and Mrs. Michael Baldwin
Mr. and Mrs. Michael Ballard
Mr. David Baron
Mr. Benjamin Barth++
Ms. Cynthia Becker++
Ms. Karen Bordeleau
Mr. and Mrs. James Bowers
Mr. and Mrs. Edward C. Brainard, II
Mr. and Mrs. John Braitmayer
Mr. and Mrs. Richard I. Burnham
Ms. Caitlin Chaffee
Mr. and Mrs. Charles A. Coolidge, III
Ms. Trudy Coxe and Mr. Jim Gaffney
Mr. Alex E. Cree++
Dr. Meghan F. Cronin
Mr. and Mrs. Jeffrey Cryan+
Mr. and Mrs. Murray S. Danforth, III
Ms. Laura Daverio*
Ms. Cornelia Dean
Mrs. Rosa Flores Dee*
Ms. Julia Kumari Drapkin*
Ms. Rachel Ehrenberg*
Mr. Robert Eshelman*
Ms. Ambar Espinoza*
Ms. Rebecca Evans*
Ms. Colleen Fitzpatrick
Ms. Kathie Florsheim*
Dr. Jennifer Francis and Mr. Peter Francis
Mr. and Mrs. Carl H. Freedberg++
Ms. Alixandra D. Freedberg++
Ms. Christy George*
Mr. and Mrs. Elbridge T. Gerry, Jr.
Mr. Zachary Gidwitz++
Ms. Gail Ginnetty
Ms. Cailin Goldberg-Meehan++
Ms. Lumina Greenway
Ms. Caren Alyse Grown++
Ms. Nitzan Haklai++
Mr. Daniel Halpren-Ruder++
Mr. Christopher Hamblett
Mr. and Mrs. Rudolph A. Hempe#
Hera Gallery
Ms. Amanda Hesser++
Mr. Joseph C. Hoopes, Jr.
Mr. John I. Howell, Jr.@
Mr. and Mrs. John Howland
Dr. and Mrs. Lloyd Irland
Ms. Mari Jensen*
Mr. Elliott Kennerson*
Mr. and Mrs. Howard Kilguss
Ms. Rona Kobell*
Mr. and Mrs. Fraser Lang
Ms. Katharine Larsen
Ms. Jessica Laser++
Ms. Madeline Lauria*
Ms. Molly Laverty++
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Leeson, Jr.#
Mr. and Mrs. Christopher H. Little#
Mrs. Mary Ann Lord
Mr. George Lord and Family+
Mr. John G. Lord
Ms. Susan Marcus
Ms. Catalina Martinez
Mr. Benjamin McCleary
 Ms. Susan D. McGarry++
 Drs. Ashima and Yashbir Mehta++
Ms. Randi Menchel++
Mr. and Mrs. Marco Menezes
Dr. Sunshine Menezes
Mrs. Charlotte Metcalf #
Mr. and Mrs. James H. Metcalf, Jr.
Ms. Lucy Metcalf @
Mr. Manton B. Metcalf, III
Ms. Teresa D. Metcalf
Ms. Vera M. Metcalf
Ms. Kendall Moore
The Murray Family Charitable Foundation
Mr. John Newton++
Mr. Paul Coe Nicholson, Jr.
Ms. Meaghan O’Neill*
Ms. Rosamund Palmer+
Mr. Thomas P. Palmer
Ms. Melissa Pamer*
Mr. Herbert Paris
Drs. Kelly and Michael Pennell
Mr. and Mrs. Carl Peterson
Ms. Molly Peterson*
Mr. and Mrs. Timothy Philbrick
Dr. Michael E.Q. Pilson
Ms. Tiffany Poppa++
Mr. Paul Rabinowitz++
Ms. Ann Rabuse+
Ms. Rayna R. Rapp++
Mr. Pedro Rivas++
Mr. and Mrs. Jackson W. Robinson
Dr. Rebecca Robinson and Mr. Dennis Graham
The Rev. and Mrs. Hays H. Rockwell
Drs. Tatiana Rynearson* and Susanne Menden-Deuer *@
Mr. Rich Salit*
Mr. William G. Saltonstall
Ms. Peggy Scheller++
Mr. and Mrs. Mark Schleifstein*
Mr. Erik W. Schwartz*
Ms. Barinetta Scott
Ms. Elizabeth J. Scott
Mr. Robert B. Semple, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Sharpe, Jr.
Ms. Sarah Sharpe
The Sharpe Family Foundation
Ms. Louise Sheldon
Ms. Annie Sherman Luke*
Ms. Kate Siber*
Ms. Holly Smith
Mr. Matthew Smith*
Ms. Virginia Soutter
Mr. Henry B. Spencer
Mr. Daniel Sprague
Mr. and Mrs. Peter C. Stone
Mr. and Mrs. Roger D. Stone
Ms. Wendy V. Stone++
Dr. Cynthia Suchman
Mr. Peter Thomson* and Ms. Edith Buhs
Ms. Pamela M. Thye#
Dr. Peter Trafton
Ms. Ellen Tuchman++
Ms. Amelia Urry*
Ms. Chelsea Wald*
Ms. Maggie B. Winter++
Ms. Barbara J. Wong++
Ms. Christine Woodside* and Mr. Nat Eddy
Mr. Ken Worzel++
Ms. Chenyu Zheng++
Mr. Dominick Yanchunas*

* Metcalf Institute alumni
# Gifts to Metcalf Institute’s Annual Fund and the Metcalf Institute Endowment Fund
@ Gift to the Michael P. Metcalf Institute Endowment Fund
+ Gift made in honor of this person
++ Gift made in honor of Manuela Zoninsein and Andrew Dunn

Metcalf Institute FY2017 programs and operating costs were supported by the following funders:

Center for Dark Energy Biosphere Investigations
Grantham Foundation for Protection of the Environment
Island Foundation
Materials Research Society
National Science Foundation
Rhode Island NSF Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research
URI Office of Marine Programs
URI College of Environment and Life Sciences

In-kind support was provided by:
Society of Environmental Journalists
URI Graduate School of Oceanography