FY2022 Supporters

We thank the generous donors, funders & sponsors who supported Metcalf Institute in Fiscal Year 2022 (July 2021-June 2022). In addition to those acknowledged below, we are also grateful to our anonymous supporters.

These donors contributed to Metcalf’s Annual Fund (RhodyNow: Metcalf Institute) except where noted.

Mr. & Mrs. Richard I. Abrams
Dr. Christy A. Ashley & Dr. Jason D. Oliver
Mr. Frank W. Baker, Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. Norman D. Baker, Jr.
Mr. David H. Baron
Dr. Austin H. Becker & Ms. Molly Birnbaum
Mr. Karlo Blumenschein Berger
Dr. Josephine M. Carubia & Mr. Vincent M. Colapietro
Ms. Caitlin M. Chaffee
Ms. Donna T. Chellis
Mr. & Mrs. Charles A. Coolidge, III
Mr. J. Sheffield Corey & Ms. Virginia B. Brewer
Ms. Barbara Crane & Mr. Michael Beirne
Mr. & Mrs. Jeffrey L. Cryan
Dr. Heidi M. Cullen
Mr. & Mrs. Murray S. Danforth, III
Ms. Cornelia Dean
Dr. Jennifer Francis & Mr. Peter T. Francis
Ms. Christy George*
Ms. Gail Ginnetty#
Ms. Caroline Goddard
Ms. Isabel H. Goff
Dr. Marian R. Goldsmith
Ms. Nina Gregory
Mr. & Mrs. Topher Hamblett
Dr. Susan Hammen-Winn
Mr. Rudolph A. Hempe
Mr. & Mrs. Charles F. Hickox
Ms. Mari N. Jensen*
The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation^
Mr. Jeff Kart*
Dr. Kenneth A. Kemp
Mr. & Mrs. Howard Kilguss
Mr. Steve Krueger*
Mr. & Mrs. Fraser A. Lang
Ms. Katharine W. Larsen
Mr. & Mrs. Robert Leeson, Jr.
Ms. Jori Lewis
Lincoln Financial Foundation^
Mr. & Mrs. Christopher Little
Mr. George H. Lord
Mr. John Garnet Lord
Mrs. Mary Ann Lord
Dr. Lucie Maranda & Dr. David A. Bengston
Ms. Elizabeth Marcotte & Mr. Lloyd Feinberg
Ms. Susan Marcus
Mr. & Mrs. Benjamin W. McCleary
Mr. & Mrs. Marco Menezes
Dr. Sunshine Menezes
Mrs. Charlotte S. Metcalf#
Mr. & Mrs. James H. Metcalf, Jr
Ms. Laura Miguel
Mr. & Mrs. Russ Milham
Dr. Kendall Moore
Ms. Amy Moses
Mr. & Mrs. J. Terrence Murray
The Murray Family Charitable Foundation
Mrs. Marylu Nadeau
Ms. Jane Nash & Mr. Raymond B. Langton, III
Ms. Ngoc Dinh Nguyen
Ms. Helen O’Malley & Mr. Owen McEntee
Dr. Michael A. Oppenheimer
Mr. Edward Ortiz*
Ms. Nancy Osgood
Mr. Thomas P. Palmer
Ms. Molly Peterson*
Ms. Margaret Pilaro
Ms. Lisette Prince
The Prospect Hill Foundation@
Ms. Nancy Rabalais
Ms. Ann M. Rabuse
Mr. & Mrs. Craig Richardson@
Drs. Henry & Jan Rines
Mrs. Barbara Robinson@
Mr. John B. Robinson@
Dr. Rebecca Robinson & Mr. Dennis Graham
Ms. Catalina Martinez* & Mr. James Roche
Dr. Tatiana Rynearson* & Dr. Susanne Menden-Deuer*
Dr. Eileen Sadasiv
Ms. Molly Samuel*
Mr. Ricardo Sandoval-Palos
Mr. & Mrs. Eric Schonewald
Mr. Robert B. Semple, Jr.
Ms. Sarah A. Sharpe
Mr. & Mrs. Henry D. Sharpe, Jr.@
Sharpe Family Foundation
Ms. Annie Sherman* & Mr. Derek Luke
Ms. Kate Siber*
Mr. & Mrs. Ian Silversmith
Mr. Matthew Smith*
Drs. Peter & Amy Snyder#
Mr. Ronald G. Stevens
Mr. Frederick W. Stolle, Jr. & Ms. Esther Solondz
Dr. Cynthia Suchman
Dr. Judith M. Swift
Mr. & Mrs. William H. Taft, IV
Dr. Carol Thornber
Ms. Louise Thorson & Mr. Richard Gregory, III
Ms. Pamela M. Thye
Dr. & Mrs. Peter Trafton
Dr. Robert Vanderslice & Ms. Margaret Kerr
Ms. Chelsea T. Wald*
Dr. Barbara K. Sullivan-Watts & Dr. D. Randolph Watts
Widgeon Point Charitable Foundation@
Ms. Meaghan Wims*
Ms. Christine Woodside* & Mr. Nathaniel B.T. Eddy
Mr. Dominick G. Yanchunas*
Dr. & Mrs. James A. Yoder

Tribute gifts in honor of:
Mr. Robert Leeson, Jr.
Dr. Sunshine Menezes

Tribute gifts in memory of:
Mr. Peter B. Lord
Mr. Michael P. Metcalf

Gifts to the Metcalf Institute Impact Accelerator Fund
Mr. & Mrs. Craig Richardson
The Prospect Hill Foundation

Gifts to the Metcalf Institute Fund for the Advancement of External Collaborations 
Mrs. Charlotte S. Metcalf

Gifts to the Metcalf Institute Innovation Fund

* Metcalf Institute alumni
# Gifts to RhodyNow: Metcalf Institute (immediate-use fund) & the Metcalf Institute Endowment Fund
@ Gift to Michael P. Metcalf Institute Endowment Fund
^ Matching gift

Funders and Sponsors
American Fisheries Society
Burroughs Wellcome Fund
Chan Zuckerberg Initiative
National Science Foundation*
Rhode Island NSF Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research*
Schmidt Ocean Institute
Science Sandbox, an initiative of the Simons Foundation
Silicon Valley Community Foundation
Union of Concerned Scientists
University of Utah, Department of Communication
URI College of the Environment & Life Sciences
URI Graduate School of Oceanography
URI Division of Research and Economic Development

Metcalf’s 2022 Annual Report

*Metcalf Institute FY22 programs supported by The National Science Foundation under award numbers OPP-1543245 and OCE-1638834, DRL-1940463, DRL-2115971 & under EPSCoR Research Infrastructure Improvement Award OIA-1655221. Any opinions, findings, & conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) & do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.